Multiple DUI

Central Coast Multiple DUI Lawyer

Charged with a Multiple DUI in Santa Barbara, Ventura or San Luis Obispo County?

A first-offense California DUI is a serious offense that results in a range of negative consequences. Second, third, and subsequent California DUI convictions will result in harsher penalties than a first offense. In many cases, the exact penalties you will face will depend on the specific circumstances of your case and the county in which you were charged. For instance, if your second DUI charge involved an accident with an injury to another, you can expect steeper penalties than if it did not. If your subsequent DUI charge involves a fourth offense, you will likely face felony charges as opposed to misdemeanor charges. 

No matter what type of DUI charge you are facing, AQ Law can help. As a Central Coast multiple DUI attorney, Ali has handled DUI charges of all kinds across the Central Coast, Santa Barbara, Ventura, Kern County, and Los Angeles. He thoroughly understands California DUI law and any distinctions between how counties prosecute and punish multiple DUI charges. Because he practices DUI defense solely, he stays up to date on changing laws, important court cases, and all of the details involved in this field.

Charged with a second, third, or subsequent DUI? Book your free consultation with Ali by contacting AQ Law online or at (805) 360-3355. Available 24/7. 

Fight Back with Aggressive Help from Ali

When facing multiple DUI charges, you need all the ammunition you can muster. That can only be accomplished with a qualified and experienced DUI attorney.

At AQ Law, Ali puts the attention to detail that your case deserves in investigating and analyzing every aspect of your arrest. He looks for any potential flaw or weakness that can cast doubt on the prosecution. That is what you will need when up against serious charges relating to multiple DUIs.

Multiple DUI Charges in California

Each subsequent DUI you face increases the penalties that the court may impose upon a conviction. Below are the general guidelines for multiple DUI charges you may be facing.

Second Offense DUI

Penalties for a second-offense DUI misdemeanor conviction can include:

  • Up to a year of jail time
  • Fines ranging from $390 up to $1,000
  • You may also face up to $1,000 in penalty assessments
  • Three to five years of probation
  • DUI school completion that may involve 18 to 30 months
  • Loss of your license for up to two years
  • Installation (at your own expense) of an ignition interlock device (IID) for a specified time period

After the first year of your license suspension, you may be able to get a restricted license that may or may not require an IID. 

Third Offense DUI

Barring any aggravating circumstances, a third offense is still charged as a misdemeanor. 

It carries the following penalties:

  • Up to a year in county jail
  • $2,500 up to $3,000 in fines and assessments
  • Three to five years of probation
  • Revocation of your license for three years
  • DUI school completion of a 30-month program
  • An IID installed in your vehicle for two years

You may be able to get a restricted license after 18 months.

Fourth & Subsequent DUI

A fourth DUI in California within 10 years can result in either a misdemeanor or felony charge, depending on the circumstances. Your previous DUIs can have occurred in other states than California. 

Penalties can include:

  • Jail time of 180 days up to a year if charged as a misdemeanor
  • If charged as a felony, prison time of 16 months, two or three years
  • Fines ranging from $390 up to $1,000 plus additional assessments
  • DUI school program of 30 months
  • Loss of your license for four years; you may be able to continue driving with an IID installed in your vehicle

Each additional DUI charge after a fourth offense will likely result in steeper penalties, such as increased jail or prison time. 


Hear it from our clients Devoted. Experienced. Trustworthy.

Read through our case results and client reviews to see how we've helped people and what they are saying about us.

While Working with us, you get Personalized Attention
  • Dedicated To DUI Criminal Defense
  • Response Within 24 Hours
  • Direct Access to Attorney
Free Consultations Available Contact Our Offices

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (805) 360-3355.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.