Central Coast DUI Accident Lawyer
Defending Clients in Santa Barbara, Ventura and San Luis Obispo County
Any DUI charge can result in substantial penalties. However, the situation becomes much more serious if you cause an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. This falls under California Vehicle Code 23153 VC which outlines DUI with injury. This offense can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. Furthermore, if you cause an accident that results in the death of another while driving under the influence, you could be charged with vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated under Penal Code 191.5 which is always charged as a felony.
These are serious cases in which you may be facing prison time, enormous fines, lengthy probation, months of DUI school, and, in some cases, punitive damages sought by the injury victim or the family of the victim who was killed. With so much at stake, you will need a detailed and aggressive defense. At AQ Law, you can turn to a Central Coast DUI accident attorney who has exclusively devoted his practice to California DUI charges. This puts Ali front and center of DUI law, understanding how prosecutors seek convictions, and skill at creating effective defense strategies.
Your initial consultation with Ali is free. Contact AQ Law via email message or by phone at (805) 360-3355 to get started. Available 24/7.
Put Ali on Your DUI Accident Case
If you caused an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, you must retain the services of an attorney as soon as possible. Ali will ensure that your rights are protected and will begin immediately investigating all details of your case. He will be by your side throughout your ordeal with counsel, support, and an aggressive approach to fighting for an optimal outcome.
DUI Accident Cases in California
As mentioned above, causing an accident while driving under the influence can result in the following charges:
- Misdemeanor DUI causing injury
- Felony DUI causing injury
- Vehicular manslaughter
If the accident in which you were involved resulted in only property damage or minor injuries to someone in your car or the other vehicle, you may face only a misdemeanor charge. A misdemeanor DUI with injury is punishable by up to a year in county jail, a fine of up to $5,000, a license suspension of up to three years, and probation for three to five years.
To be charged with a felony DUI, your blood alcohol level must have measured .08 percent or higher and you must be found to have been negligent. An example of negligence would be violating a traffic law, such as speeding, running a stop sign or red light, tailgating, weaving across lanes, or more. The penalties you will face in a felony DUI of this kind will depend on the number and severity of the injuries you caused. You could face up to four years in prison, a maximum fine of $5,000, probation for up to five years, and the loss of your license for up to five years.
Where you have caused injury to anyone due to a DUI conviction, you may also be required to pay restitution to the injured individuals.
Being convicted of killing someone in a DUI-related accident will result in even harsher penalties. These can involve state prison sentences of four, six, or 10 years. Penalties will depend on whether you have any prior DUI convictions and the circumstances of the accident, such as if you acted with gross negligence.
Read through our case results and client reviews to see how we've helped people and what they are saying about us.
Dedicated To DUI Criminal Defense
Response Within 24 Hours
Direct Access to Attorney
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (805) 360-3355.